Onyx – The Second Book in the Lux Series By: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Warning: Spoilers!

image

image

So, I finished Onyx yesterday and I’ve had a lot of homework so I haven’t been able to blog about it until now. But…I have to say, this book was amazing! I absolutely loved it, many reviewers say it’s better than Obsidian but I think it’s equally good, I loved both of them. However, one of the major differences between the first and second books is the change in relationships. Dee and Katy don’t seem to be as close as they did in the first book, but instead Katy has developed a new closeness with Daemon.

Katy and Daemon’s relationship has become more serious in the sense that they have a permanent bond through their connection because of Katy’s mutation. If Daemon dies, Katy dies, and vice versa. This adds a more serious element to their relationship as previously they would joke around with each other but now they have to accomplish tasks together such as defending themselves from the watchful eye of the DOD.

The mystery in this book is much better than Obsidian. As I mentioned in my previous blog post, the reader knew almost immediately what Daemon and his sister were but Katy didn’t. In Onyx, the reader is left wondering the same questions as Katy, which I think was a positive change!

Blake as a new character was very well integrated into the story. Maybe I’m too trusting of people, but I thought Daemon’s reaction to Blake was pure jealousy but his suspiciousness and feeling of something being “off” was right which really surprised me! I felt like Katy was completely betrayed. Though I did start to question his motives when he willingly decided to train Katy. I think one of the moments I hated Blake the most was when he threw the knife at her. How was he so certain she would be able to stop it?! My feelings about Blake have been completely all over the place. When he was first introduced I really liked that he gave Katy attention, and he seemed to be someone Katy could relate to, as they both were mutated humans. Then once the training began and he threw the knife at her and exposed her to the Arum I really disliked him. Though, near the conclusion of the novel, it’s clear that Blake’s betrayal isn’t personal against Katy, but because he’s trying to protect Chris, his friend who mutated him. His connection with Chris is his motivation. Which made me feel rather sympathetic toward him in the end.

Though Blake’s betrayal came as a surprise to me, Will’s did not. I knew from the beginning that he didn’t have good intentions. I wasn’t overly surprised when he told Katy he was related to Bethany because I thought he had some involvement and knowledge that surpassed that of the general human. The ending of this book, was so full of action! Will masterminds a plan to ensure that his cancer doesn’t worsen by capturing Katy with the hopes of Daemon healing him, ultimately causing him to become mutated and possess the powers and abilities that the mutated have, including the ability to not become sick. However, mutations don’t always take full effect if the alien healer isn’t 100% willing to heal them. Therefore, Daemon’s lack of willingness to heal Will, with the objective of freeing Katy, may have undermined Will’s original plan. The reader at this point is unsure what will happen next in regards to Will’s mutation. Possibly, the mutation will be successful and a connection will be formed between Daemon and Will or the mutation will fail and Will could become enraged and a possible conflict could occur. Or there’s always the possibility that a new form will emerge since these are aliens after all…anything is possible!

And now for the romance! The romance between Daemon and Katy is just so perfect in an imperfect way. Daemon is a little more caring and sympathetic towards Katy than in Obsidian however he still has his jerk moments. The romance in this book has really taken a new direction from the first book, as FINALLY Katy has determined that Daemon’s affection for her is not solely due to their alien-mutant connection!

By far, my ultimate favorite quote in this entire book is…

“Say it.”
“Say what?”
“Tell me what you told me earlier.”
“I love you.”
“That’s all I ever need to hear.”
“Those three words?”
“Always those three words”

Daemon in this conversation with Katy really shows another contrasting aspect to his personality from an arrogant and sarcastic individual, to a deep, emotional, and loving one.

This book was completely amazing! I loved it just as much as I loved Obsidian, and I cannot wait to read Opal (which I’ll probably start tonight) to find out what happens with Will and the DOD, and what the relationship between Daemon and his brother Dawson will be like, since the reader was given the impression at the end of the book that perhaps Dawson has changed. Maybe he won’t be as reciprocating to Daemon and Dee’s love and excitement that he’s back. Dawson has a past untold and I’m very curious of his story!

Here’s more of my favorite quotes!
“If there’s anything, there is us. You and me and no one else.”

“That’s the funny thing about trying to escape. You never really can. Maybe temporarily, but not completely.”

“Dogeared pages were the Antichrist of book lovers everywhere.”

Leave a Reply

