Book Talk

Summer Reads!

I am so excited to put together my summer TBR. I’ll have so much more time to dedicate to reading than I have so far during this hectic school year! Last summer I nearly read every Nicholas Sparks novel that he published! I remember reading a whole novel in one or two days and I would read them back to back making for a very romantic and sappy summer reading list! This year however I have incorporated more diversity within my TBRs though I still absolutely adore romance and probably always will, I now enjoy the romance to be an aspect of the plot (even if it’s the predominant theme) but also include other elements within the plot as well such as mystery, sci-fi, or fantasy! So this summer I do plan to read some sappy romantic novels however I’m attempting to ensure my reading list incorporates variety! So now for my tentative summer TBR:

1. Finish the Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout
I am currently three quarters finished Opal which is the third book in this five book series. I had originally hoped to be finished the series by now but of course school doesn’t allow for as much spare time as I want to be able to dedicate to reading. However I am very determined to finish it by the beginning of summer because I absolutely loveee this series it’s one of my favourites so far! 🙂

2. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
I have heard so much about this book and the series the majority being positive feedback, I know a lot of people have read this series awhile ago but I’ve had it in mind for the better part of six months so I’m determined to actually buy it and read as soon as I’m finished the Lux series!

3. Just One Day & Just One Year by Gayle Forman
Early this year, I read and watched If I Stay by Gayle Forman and I actually cried while reading and watching the movie, it was so emotional and I really enjoyed the novel and I’m excited to read more of her writing! I’ve also heard lots of positive comments regarding these novels! I know everyone says not to judge a book by its cover…but the covers of these novels are wonderful which makes me very excited to add to my bookshelf!

4. The Heir by Kiera Cass
I’ve read the other novels in the series and absolutely loved them!! I’m so excited to read this one as well especially as it continues the storyline in a different perspective as the previous novels I’m interested to see how The Heir compares to The One which I really really enjoyed!

5. Fairest by Marissa Meyer
I’ve also read the three novels in the Lunar Chronicles (Cinder, Scarlet, & Cress) though Cinder remains my favourite of the series and Cress being my least favourite, I’m willing to continue reading the other novels that Marissa Meyer publishes as a part of this series because I do find the books somewhat entertaining and I think it’ll be a fun summer read. I’m really interested in finding out more about the queen and also following the storyline of Cinder and Kai’s developing relationship/romance

6. First Love by James Patterson
To be honest I haven’t done much research on this novel but from the back of the book description it sounds so amazing as a summer read (and yes, incredibly romantic) the main character seems to be one I can somewhat identify with as they are described to be what one would consider the ideal student and child (a “good” girl) I’ve heard such amazing things about James Patterson as a writer though this will be the first novel of his I will read! I definitely have high expectations for this novel!

7. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
I purchased this novel a few months ago but haven’t had time to read it yet but the premise of it seems very intriguing. As a future law student, taking various justice courses, this seems very appealing as there remains prejudices and inequality even within modern society. This is a classic I have to read this summer!

This is only a tentative list so far, I’m sure I’ll add so many more and I would also really appreciate suggestions and recommendations! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Summer Reads!”

Leave a comment