Book Reviews

Opal – The Third Book in the Lux Series by Jennifer L Armentrout

Warning: Possible Spoilers

I literally just finished this book like five minutes ago and I just cannot get over the last 100 pages of this novel. I couldn’t put this book down all day, I just had to finish it! The beginning and middle of the book were good, but the ending was the best!

What I enjoyed about this book:

Katy & Daemon:
Obviously the romance in this novel is so sweet and I love how Katy and Daemon have grown even closer and are even more comfortable with each other. My favourite part of this entire book in regards to romance was prom night. Daemon took her to the lake and brought all of her favourite food and wine and they just talked all night and it was just such a cute scene!! When Daemon surprised Katy and bought her a new MacBook I was literally so happy for her because everyone knows she’s an adamant blogger! Daemon is just the perfect character he’s the best balance of humorous, romantic, protective, and sweet!

The Action:
Opal was full of action and unlike many other books, there really wasn’t a dull moment. I like how the novel entertains the reader through Katy and Daemon’s relationship and romance, and through the constant conflict that occurs. The conclusion of the book had the most action though and I just couldn’t believe that Katy is separated from Daemon…with the Arum! I could almost see the pain on Daemon’s face when he realized he couldn’t do anything to help her.

How the Characters Had a Chance to Feel like Normal Teenagers:
The Luxen though in human form, don’t always get to feel like normal and typical teenagers and I was especially glad that Katy had the opportunity to in some ways, disregard the conflict and the stress of being a Luxen mutant and go prom dress shopping with her friends and casually spend time with Daemon. Katy since her transformation really hasn’t had many opportunities to feel like a normal teenage girl but I think in this book more so than the previous ones she was provided with that opportunity.

Katy’s relationship with Dee:
Since the death of Adam (Dee’s boyfriend) Katy and Dee hadn’t been as close, and in some ways Dee even blamed Katy for Adam’s death. However, when Dee takes the initiative to ask Katy to go dress shopping I knew right away that their relationship was beginning to improve. I really hope by the end of the series they will be able to be just as close as they were in Obsidian!

What I disliked about this book:

Blake:
Honestly, what is up with Blake? He seems to be a whole new level of creepy in this novel! When I found out that he had been sleeping in Katy’s bed with her, without her knowing, I was thoroughly creeped out. I don’t understand why Katy keeps feeling so sympathetic towards him after her intense feelings of dislike upon finding out this information.

Will:
Ever since the ending of Onyx I had been soo curious as to how the mutation would effect Will. I was so surprised when he didn’t show up very much at all in the novel except near the end when he appears in Katy’s house unexpectedly! I really didn’t think he had the right to be that angry about the mutation not fully taking effect, to the point of shooting Katy! I felt so bad for her after when she regretted having to kill him, but in a way I’m glad he won’t be in the story anymore because I disliked his character the most especially how he just used Katy’s mom who had already been through so much with the death of Katy’s father.

The ending:
I think the most emotional part of this book was the ending. Daemon and Katy have finally become really close and they finally freed Bethany, and everything seemed to be great until Katy had to be separated and taken by the Arum. The whole novel Daemon wouldn’t tell Katy verbally that he loved her, but would instead only show her through the various sweet things he did for her. But at the end before he is fully separated from her, he says he loves her and honestly that was really emotional. Also, Daemon is always pretty collected and calm when faced with danger or conflict, but he really wasn’t collected or calm once he found out he couldn’t rescue her. This really illustrated the severity of the situation, and also his deep and profound love for Katy.

Overall I definitely loved this book! I’d give it a 4.5/5 and would recommend it to anyone! I am so glad I’ve finally finished it, it took me awhile in between doing school work but it’s definitely a romantic, action-filled page turner!

Some of my favourite quotes:

1. “Daemon spoke in his language. The lyrical quality of his words made no sense to me.”

“What did you say?” I asked.

“There’s really no translation for it,” he said, “but the closest human words would be, you are beautiful to me.”

2.  “You really shouldn’t trust a soul in this game. Not when everyone has something to gain or lose.”

3. “I tilted my head back against his shoulder, wondering how he’d gone from douchebag extraordinaire to this.. this guy who still infuriated me but also constantly surprised and amazed me.
To this guy I’d fallen madly in love with.”

Leave a Reply

