Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout – the Fourth Book in the Lux Serie

Warning: Spoilers!

Origin-cover

I’ve finally finished Origin! I’ve greatly enjoyed all of the books in the Lux series but this is my favourite so far! There was far more suspense and even some plot twists that weren’t as prevalent in the other books! I really love how the main characters, in particular Katy and Daemon, have developed from Obsidian to this book! There was just so much happening all of the time and it was really well written.

The writing style was slightly different in Origin which I actually liked more, but only because it worked well with the plot. This book allowed the reader to gain better insight on how both Katy and Daemon perceived the events that took place, as it was told in alternating perspectives. In my opinion, alternating perspectives of characters is really interesting but it often fails because it is the same author writing both of the characters’ thoughts which sometimes results in the characters having too similar of characteristics ultimately making it hard to differentiate between them. However, even if I left the page and came back and started reading it again, I could very quickly recognize who’s perspective the story was being told in,which in my opinion is a good indication that the author was successful in using this writing technique.

I think this novel in the series has so far been the most important to advancing the plot as Ash, Andrew, and Matthew died, and finally the Luxen have decided to expose themselves to the world in a desperate attempt at staying alive, and not being caught by the D.O.D.

Possibly the cutest thing in this entire series so far was when Daemon bought Katy the alien stuffed animal and she named it DB that was just too adorable!!!!! 🙂 

 What Surprised Me in Origin: 

Beth is pregnant! I really didn’t catch on to why she was so tired and sick through the novel but now it makes sense. I kind of wish I would have been able to predict that earlier because I’m usually pretty good at foreshadowing and figuring out clues that are given in the story.

Daemon and Katy got married!! This was shocking to me, maybe it shouldn’t have been because they do have a rare and profound love, but it seemed that Daemon didn’t really have to think too long about proposing and they’re so young! I do agree with their marriage though, because it’s obvious that they were meant to be together. 🙂 I wish their circumstances could have been different, so they actually had a more planned and traditional wedding as opposed to just the marriage certificate and the quick vow exchange in Vegas.

Ash sacrificed her own life to save Beth. This surprised me because since Ash was first introduced into the story she always seemed a little self-absorbed to me and I wouldn’t have predicted that she would do something so selfless. Though this does show just how far each of the characters have come since Obsidian!

My Favourite Quotes From the Novel: 

“Did you think you could stop me? I’ll burn the world down to save her.” – Daemon

“I want a years-worth of seconds and minutes with you. I want a decade’s worth of hours, so many that I can’t add them up.”- Daemon

“We were out. And we were never going back. I’d take out an army, burn down an entire city and throw the world into chaos if I had to in order to keep Kat out of that place.”- Daemon

“Got you something.”
“A portable bath?”
“Better.” I pulled out the alien doll. “Made me think of you.”
“It looks like you,” she said. “I’m going to name it DB.”

Leave a Reply

