Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout – The Fifth Book in the Lux Series

Warning: Spoilers!

image

I’ve done a lot of reading today because I was determined to finish Opposition, and I did! It was so, so good. I loved the tension and suspense this novel delivered to the reader. There was just so much happening in this book, but what I was really hoping for was Dee to reunite with her family and friends and for a solution to the war with the Luxen to be found, and I’m happy because both of those were achieved! 🙂 As I said in my last post, I really enjoyed the dystopian elements of this book, it was darker and more serious than the other novels in the series because essentially the entire world was thrown into complete chaos and mayhem due to the arrival of the Luxen. Jennifer L. Armentrout really has a talent for making the reader feel what the characters are feeling in her writing style. When Katy realized what appeared to be her Mom, was a Luxen and that her real Mom had died, I could almost feel the amount of pain and heartache she was going through. Another point in this novel that this happened was when Daemon was shot. I literally thought Daemon was going to die. Throughout the series, Daemon and Katy have dodged death countless times, and I really believed that they would have to face it at some point. Since the war had ended and the mood of the novel was mostly positive and happy, I thought for sure Daemon wasn’t going to make it, but it was a relief that he did! If Daemon would have died, I honestly don’t know how I would cope with that! I really like how even though Katy has been devastated by the loss of her family, she has found a new one with Daemon, and his love for her is so strong, that he is literally willing to take a bullet for her.

I am so glad that this book has an epilogue because I really felt like I needed more to the story than what was provided without it. The epilogue took place 11 months after Daemon’s close encounter with death, and we get to meet baby Ashley, the origin baby of Dawson and Beth! 🙂 I’m also really happy that Katy and Daemon have enrolled in classes at the college in Colorado and are planning their wedding – their real wedding, with their real names and the traditional idea with the wedding dress and cake and flowers! 🙂 Katy has also resumed her book reading and blogging which is great for her because it’s part of who she is, and I think it’ll help her gain some normalcy in her life after the extensive adventures and also heartache she’s been through!

I’m going to start Shadows tonight, a prequel novella that outlines the love story of Dawson and Beth, really where this whole story began! 🙂 I’m super excited to read it! … I’ve heard rumors that Jennifer L. Armentrout is writing another book for the Lux series to be released sometime in the winter, if this is true, I am so excited because I feel like I need more of this series in my life! It can’t be over yet! I want to know what else happens with Daemon and Katy and how their wedding goes, or if they have kids! I have so many unanswered questions that I hope the next novel answers. 🙂

Some of my Favourite Quotes: 

“The most beautiful people, ones whose beauty is only rivaled by what is inside of them, are the ones who are quietly unaware of it.”

“We were supposed to have tonight and tomorrow, and many weeks and months, but we didn’t have even another minute.”

“Things weren’t easy or perfect, and the future seemed shaky at times, but life wasn’t wrapped up in neat little bows.”

I give this book 4.5/5 and I would recommend it to anyone! It was just so good, and if you haven’t read the Lux series yet, read it because you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

