Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout – A Prequel Novella

I’ve been like binge reading this weekend, so I finished Shadows today it wasn’t overly long so it didn’t take me a long time to finish it. Anyways, I really liked it! It really did give the necessary background information on Dawson and Beth, and how they fell in love and how Bethany became a hybrid! So I will share some of the parts I liked, and some of the aspects of the novella that I disliked.

What I liked: wpid-2015-06-21-20.10.19.png.png

I liked how the book did an exceptional job of helping the reader to understand not only Dawson and Beth’s relationship, but also when you read it you think “Ohh that’s why Daemon was like that in Obsidian.” I actually wish I could have read this book before Obsidian because I would have understood why Daemon acted the way he did towards Katy at first. I also liked that it wasn’t one of those seemingly pointless add-ons to the series, and how it actually was significant to the plot of the entire series, because Dawson and Beth’s relationship was really the foundation of the rest of the plot in the books, the whole story essentially started with them and their romance. So I really liked how the reader could get an even better understanding of how it all began, especially as there really wasn’t a whole lot concerning Dawson and Beth in the rest of the series, in comparison to the strong focus on Daemon and Katy. I’m glad these characters got their own novella dedicated to their story, because even if they’re not well represented in the other novels, they’re essential in the development of the entire story. I also both liked and disliked the strength and unity of Dawson, Daemon, and Dee, and their fellow Luxen companions. I liked how Daemon kind of took on the parental role in a way, by advising Dawson of the risks  that were involved in dating a human. I also liked that the reader could get to know Bethany a little bit more, we learned that she loved painting and she tried to paint Dawson’s green eyes, but couldn’t mix the right colours to get the correct hue of green. In some ways, Beth reminded me a lot of Katy, as she also had risk-taking qualities about her, and came off as a strong independent woman.

What I Disliked: 

I’m all for sappy romance stories, in fact, that’s one of the key components that I look for before reading a book, because I loveee love. However, for some reason I kind of had an issue with Dawson meeting a girl, and not even fully knowing her yet and being okay with risking everything for her. Daemon and the other Luxen made it clear what the consequences of him being involved with Bethany would be. Dawson could have issues with the D.O.D, his family would be angry with him and not accept Beth, it drew their enemies, the Arum, closer because of the trace that was left behind on Beth…it seemed that the negatives outweighed the positives in terms of Dawson and Bethany’s relationship. Dawson was willing to have Daemon against him and his relationship, his own brother, just for her. No offense against Bethany, but he barely knew her! I understand taking that risk after awhile of dating and you know that that’s the right person entirely, but that was a big chance he took for Bethany which is both wonderfully romantic and a little bit unrealistic at the same time! What if he realized after he risked his family’s acceptance and his secret identity that him and Bethany just weren’t going to work out? I also disliked how incredibly judgmental Daemon was of his brother, he was rude and ignorant and at first he didn’t even try to understand how Dawson felt! I understand he was trying to be the logical and reasonable sibling that perhaps he felt that the family needed, but it was all so hypocritical because he fell just in love with Katy – a human, as Dawson did with Bethany. Maybe I’m being too hard on Daemon, because I really do appreciate his profound and significant character development throughout the series. He went from disliking the whole notion of dating a human, and practically forbidding his brother from dating Bethany, to falling madly, and deeply in love with Katy.

Overall, it was a beautiful love story, I just couldn’t believe how much Dawson was willing to risk for Bethany who he didn’t know very well. I did love it, and the novella fit perfectly with the other books. I’m relieved that Daemon finally came around and supported their relationship in the end, because not having support from your family with your relationship can be extremely stressful, but Dawson didn’t let that destroy the love that he shared with Bethany and obviously it was true love, and their relationship lasted because the reader learns of the numerous hardships that they go through and they stay together! I am just SO glad that Jennifer L. Armentrout wrote this series, because it was really just so great! I’m really sad that I don’t have anymore of this series to read, because the whole series captivated me from the very first page of Obsidian to the very last page of Opposition and Shadows!

Some of my Favourite Quotes:

“how could he explain what happened? ‘hey, honey, i’m an alien and apparently i just doused you with some radioactive loving! wanna catch a movie?’ Yeah, not cool.”

“Ash twisted toward Daemon, her cheeks flushed. “I can’t believe you’re allowing him to do this. Next thing we know, you’ll be dating a human.”
Daemon busted out laughing. “Yeah, not going to happen.

“Bethany.” His quiet voice intruded.
Her heart turned over heavily. “This is real right?”
His face contorted as if he were in pain. “Yes, it’s real.”
Crazy people probably did things like this all the time. Asked their imaginary alien friends if they were real, and of course, they’d say yes.”

“Love of sugar had to mean true love. It just had to.”

I give this novella a 4/5 for being a wonderfully romantic love story and somewhat relateable to many people – having a forbidden love! If you haven’t read this series, you’re seriously missing out on one of the best contemporary series written!

Leave a Reply

