Book Reviews

The Heir by Kiera Cass – Review

Warning: Possible Spoilers

The-Heir_612x925

I just finished The Heir by Kiera Cass (an addition to the Selection Series). It’s such an addicting book, once I started it I just had to finish it so it took me only a few days to read the whole thing. I have nothing but positive things to say about this novel. At first I was a little bit skeptical as to how good it would be, but I am really glad I read it! It was really interesting reading from the selector’s point of view, as opposed to the previous point of view being told by one of the selected in the other three novels. I was also worried that Maxon and America wouldn’t have significant roles in the book, but I was happy with their involvement in the plot. I also absolutely loved their family dynamic, they’re such a close family and her brothers are so kind and protective of her which was so sweet and one of my favourite aspects of this book. I think her twin brother Ahren is an exceptional character as he always seems really logical and he gives really good advice.

I’ll be honest, at first I did not like Eadlyn at all. She came off as being extremely self-absorbed and prideful. She was not a likable character. Though as the novel progresses, the reader begins to understand her more – she has guarded her heart, and has figuratively built walls around herself, in an attempt to not let anyone get close to her.

In regards to the Selection, I am definitely hoping that Kile is selected. I feel like Eadlyn and Kile have a deeper connection than she does with the other selected boys  (mostly because they’ve known each other their whole lives). I found their moments in the book to be the most romantic and I love how even though they’ve known each other for a very long time, Eadlyn continues to learn new things about him. If I was Eadlyn I would personally choose Kile because he’s a bookworm and dedicated to learning new things he essentially comes off as really nerdy.  It’s interesting how Eadlyn didn’t really like Kile in the beginning, but the reader can clearly see their development as characters as near the end of the novel Eadlyn is hesitant to help Kile leave the palace because she doesn’t want to picture the palace without him. Also…  it’s a mystery how his application even was submitted for his participation in the selection and my motto is “everything happens for a reason.” 😀

That being said, Eadlyn with the remainder of the boys left in the competition, has started to make friendships with them which is kind of a relief because she was very unhappy with the idea of the selection in the beginning. The end of the novel leaves off on a cliff-hanger so I am really excited to read the next book and find out what happens!

The Hier by Keira Cass deserves a 4.5/5 because I loved how much character development was present especially for Eadlyn. The last few pages of the book really illustrate her change in heart! I went from disliking Eadlyn to really liking her as a character! 🙂 I like her determination as a woman to not necessarily need a man, but I’m glad that she’s starting to understand that being married won’t lessen her ability to be a strong, independent and powerful woman. 🙂

Some of my Favourite Quotes from the book: 

“There are some things you don’t learn about yourself until you let someone else into the most intimate places of your heart.”

“You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.”

“Fun math is an oxymoron.”

“I watched him go and told myself that the only reason I was smiling like that was because the cameras were hidden somewhere, not because of anything Kile Woodwork had done.”

“I just didn’t expect it. It was asparagus. . . . He literally punched someone over a vegetable.” (This actually made me laugh out loud).

3 thoughts on “The Heir by Kiera Cass – Review”

  1. I knowwwww the Heir was amazing! I’m definitely looking forward to book 2! And wow I love the concept of putting favorite quotes in your review, I feel like the quotes someone likes says so much about a person omg I think I’m gonna have to try that for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

