Book Reviews

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner – Review

wpid-20150704_160627.jpg

These Broken Stars is about a girl named Lilac and a boy named Tarver who find themselves escaping the ship Icarus, on an escape pod. They eventually land on a planet and the story follows their struggles and challenges being the only individuals on this planet, to survive. The plot is really complex and I feel like a further summary might include spoilers. I really liked the fact that the characters weren’t necessarily the stereotypical rich girl and soldier. The readers quickly find out that even though Lilac’s father is the richest and most powerful individual in the universe, she does possess an unexpected level of intelligence, especially with wiring. I have to be honest and say I was a little bit disappointed with this book for various reasons. Though I did like it, I thought there would be a lot more romance in it then there was. I also felt like the plot progressed rather slowly at times, and too quickly at other times. I did however like the writing style being from dual points of view, and the little aspects of  Tarver’s interrogation that was present before a new chapter began, as this was quite original and I haven’t really read any other novels that included this addition. I didn’t hate this book, and I also didn’t quite love it, I find myself feeling something in between. I really love the cover of it though! It’s beautiful! 🙂

Many reviewers are comparing this novel to Titanic, and though they are similar in regards to the premise of survival of a horrific event, I really don’t see that many other similarities. Titanic remains a profound love story whereas this novel is somewhat lacking in romance at some points. Personally, I don’t think they can be compared.

Will I read the other books in this series? I’m not quite sure yet. I’ve heard that the other books don’t really include the same characters (Lilac and Tarver), so that makes me feel a little bit hopeless as to getting my questions answered. 😦

I would give this book 3/5 just because I didn’t love the lack of romance, and the romance that was present in the novel sometimes felt a little bit forced and unnatural. The book to me was almost confusing at times as not everything was thoroughly explained and even after I’ve finished the book I still have so many questions.

SPOILER SECTION: Do not read if you have not read this book, or don’t want to be spoiled!

For those who have read this novel, I’m curious as to what you think of it, I felt very confused by the ending! I’m also really confused about the “voices” or the beings that brought Lilac back to life, it’s almost as if she’s a clone of herself who possesses the same memories of her past experiences. I’m wondering if she’s going to fade, or remain living, and at the end did the planet just like.. explode??  I’m very confused with these aspects of the book and I’m also confused about the mention of the rift. I feel like that wasn’t really thoroughly explained. Also one of the most surprising parts of this book for me was when Tarver let Lilac light the fuse…just why?! Why would he let her do that!? Overall, I think this book was a little bit strange, it was definitely something I’m not used to reading and I really wish it explained some things more clearly.

6 thoughts on “These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner – Review”

  1. I really enjoyed this book, but I hear what you’re saying about the confusing parts. Without giving any spoilers, I can tell you that the next book is about different central characters but is still very connected to this one. Carver and Lila do play a part, though, and the mystery continues to unravel. I’d recommend giving the next book a shot if you enjoyed other aspects of the writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

