The Moon & More By Sarah Dessen – Review & Discussion

wpid-20150815_144523.jpg

I just finished The Moon & More by Sarah Dessen, which is actually the second book by Sarah Dessen I have read so far this summer, the first one being in July which is her newest release, Saint Anything. It took me like all day and a pretty awesome tan resulted, but I finished it, and I’m glad that I did! 🙂 I really do like Sarah Dessen novels, and I have for a long time, I’ve read the majority of the books that she has written so far and have generally liked them all, and the same can be applied to this book. Basically, the plot of the story is that Emaline has grown up in a small town, where she knows everyone, and everyone knows her. She kind of struggles with balancing the idea of home and familiarity with her adventurous side of wanting to know what’s beyond the borders of the small town of Colby. She deals with the differences between her father (her biological dad), and her dad, who she’s grown up with and has raised her, but who is not genetically related to her. Her father wants Emaline to have the moon and more, which for him, includes her going to Columbia University, though this was never Emaline’s dream so she settles for a school that is only two hours away. Emaline also is challenged with the break up of her long term boyfriend Luke, and her spontaneous new relationship with Theo.

I did like the plot, there was an element of suspense at times, and I did also like the dynamic between the characters, even the side characters because everyone seemed really close because it is a small town. I will say though, that I did not particularly like Theo at any point during the book. To me he seemed never right for Emaline, as he was really arrogant and kind of a know-it-all. At first I really didn’t like Morris either and I sort of questioned for awhile what his real purpose was to the plot, because he was just that guy who did everything in slow motion and was pretty lazy, but I was very wrong by the end of the book, I see why he was essential, and I’m glad that he was one of the main characters.

Another interesting thing about Sarah Dessen novels, that seems to be present throughout her various works, is the life lesson that can be found within each novel. This book definitely had a lesson for everyone, and I really enjoyed that aspect of it as well. 🙂

As a side note, I really love this cover of the book that I have, I think it’s really summery and cute! I even like it better than the other cover of this book that is pink and purple. 🙂

Overall I give this book 4/5 stars and you should go check it out because it is a perfect summer read! 🙂

Some of my Favourite Quotes from the Novel

“Life is long. Just because you don’t get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn’t mean it won’t come. Fate doesn’t punch a time clock or consult a schedule.”

“The truth was, there was no way everything could be the Best. Sometimes, when it came to events and people, it had to be okay to just be.”

“It was such a weird thing how a breakup stretched much wider than you expected. You didn’t just lose a person, but their entire world as well.”

“You need demarcation.”
“Demarcation?” I asked.
“It means a clear separation between two things,” he told me. “A solid end before a clean beginning. No murky borders. Clarity.”

Spoliers Ahead – Do not read if you haven’t read the novel, or don’t want to be spoiled: 

The ending for me, was the best part of the book because everything kind of came together perfectly. Usually I love a good romance, but this book didn’t end that way at all. In fact, I was actually glad that Emaline wasn’t with anyone including Theo or her previous long term (3 year) boyfriend Luke. It was just her and her ten year old half brother Benji, which I thought was adorable the brother-sister relationship that they had melted my heart a little bit.

I was glad that despite everything that happened between Emaline and Luke, they were able to remain friends and have each other’s back when times got tough. It’s always really nice to have a person like that around, even if a romantic relationship didn’t work out, doesn’t necessarily mean a friendship won’t! 🙂

I was actually pretty surprised when Theo wasn’t hired by Clyde, but in fact Morris was! I was happy for Morris, and obviously as the reader, you can see great character development there! 🙂

It was clear also that Ivy had grown as a person too, not being that cold and demanding person she was before but being more relaxed and easy going, and more care free. In the beginning I couldn’t even stand Ivy, but by the end I thought she turned out to be alright. 🙂

2 Replies to “The Moon & More By Sarah Dessen – Review & Discussion”

Leave a Reply

