Book Reviews

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – Review

wpid-2015-08-24-17.19.32.png.png

I finally finished Dorothy Must Die this afternoon! I feel like the month of August has been a slow reading month for me, in comparison to July, but I am working my way through my TBR, and I only have one more book left on it, so I think I can finish it! 🙂 I’ve been doing some laptop shopping and whatnot, and I have finally bought a Macbook, which I love a lot! 🙂 Anyways, my friend and I read this book simultaneously and the opinions in this post will be based on both of our thoughts, though we had similar opinions on this book. 🙂

Dorothy Must Die is a spin-off of the much loved and well known classic, The Wizard of Oz. However, Oz has changed quite a bit since Dorothy has come back. Dorothy was corrupted by power, as she was elevated to the position of Princess. Oz is now run as a dictatorship, and whoever doesn’t obey Dorothy is faced with severe punishments. The crimes that we see in the book are even as insignificant as being sassy. There is a revolutionary movement to kill Dorothy and end the dictatorship that Oz is under and to end the oppression that the innocent citizens face.

I enjoyed the book because it was quite different from the original Wizard of Oz. The main character chosen to kill Dorothy, Amy, is a sweet and compassionate individual from Kansas who got swept up by a Tornado and landed in the land of Oz. She is taken in by the revolutionary movement and trained to kill the once beloved Dorothy. Though, in the book, it is made quite obvious in my opinion, that Amy Gumm doesn’t exactly have what it takes to perform her duty right away. She saves animals and creatures of Oz from their punishment, knowing that saving them could mean she was punished as well.

I know that there is a sequel to this novel called, The Wicked Will Rise, and I’m looking forward to reading that as well, to see the character development of Amy. In Dorothy Must Die, the reader does see some character development as Amy in the beginning is a self-conscious of herself, and lacks confidence in her abilities, though by the conclusion of the book, she does have more confidence in herself, but remains a little bit hesitant.

I give this book 3.5/5 stars for being action filled, descriptive, and engaging! I know a lot of people have already read this book, and I’m reading it a little bit late, but if you haven’t and you enjoyed the original Wizard of Oz, I recommend checking this book out. 🙂

Some of my Favourite Quotes from the Novel

“Those who have sacrificed always have the most to lose.”

“You don’t have to know every turn of the road in order to walk down it.”

“I couldn’t make up my mind which part I was more curious about: the fact that she was levitating or the fact that she was doing it above a field of dirt, dressed like she was on her way to the prom.”

Spoilers – This section contains spoilers so if you haven’t read the book or don’t want to be spoiled don’t read ahead. 

The ending of this book was set up as an introduction to the second book, which is quite clear. However, my friend and I felt that the story kind of just went into a circle. Not a lot was resolved by the end of the novel, as Dorothy didn’t die, and a new plan was put into place. My friend who read the book with me, believes that Amy hasn’t grown enough to actually perform the task of killing Dorothy, and therefore, needs a second book to build up confidence. He also thinks that possibly Amy will start to become a little bit too unfeeling towards others and be overly willing to kill. This could happen because in the beginning of the novel, it was mentioned that Amy didn’t want to turn wicked like Dorothy, which possibly could be foreshadowing, we’ll just have to wait and see!

I also was wondering if anyone else is shipping Nox and Amy, because I totally am! I thought for sure they would end up having some form of a romance in this book, but it didn’t really happen, so maybe in the next book because they definitely have a thing.

I was surprised that Pete turned out to be Ozma, that really does kind of make his frequent disappearances and lack of answers more understandable. If you’ve read this book please tell me your opinions on it! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – Review”

Leave a Reply

