First Love by James Patterson Review

first love

Where do I start? This novel was such a fast-paced read for me. I read it in under three days mostly because I was captivated with the plot and the characters from the very first page. The story follows the life of a girl named Axi and a boy named Robinson. Robinson’s past is somewhat of a mystery as he doesn’t open up to Axi about his family. They met in a cancer ward in a hospital while they were both receiving treatment, and that’s when they fell in love but didn’t admit it to themselves or each other. At first they carried on a pretty interesting friendship until Axi decides on going on a trip and essentially running away from home and she invites Robinson. The formally known Axi “GG” (standing for Good Girl) is transformed into someone who doesn’t focus on only the future but lives more in the moment. This philosophy however does lead to her committing some crimes such as stealing cars for her and Robinson’s trip. While they are spending time together, eventually Axi and Robinson admit that they love each other which was such a relief to me because it was so obvious and I just wanted them to admit it so they could be a couple.

I’ll try to avoid most spoilers in this post, but once they became a couple I was really happy for about one chapter until things started to go downhill. I won’t give anything away, but it broke my heart. The book left me in tears (well only two – but that’s saying a lot for me), and I was just so sad. First Love is just so full of emotion and I like books that make me feel something while I read them, so that’s why I really liked this one.

My edition of the novel comes with a second book authored by James Patterson and that is Sam’s Letters to Jennifer. I’m about halfway done it  and I’m liking it so far but it doesn’t seem to have as much emotion to me yet as First Love did. First Love is a novel that many people can relate to in their own individualistic way, and I suggest that if you enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars, you might want to consider reading this one, because in my opinion it’s almost on par with it. I give First Love 4.5/5 stars because it really does put you on an emotional rollercoaster.

Some of my favourite quotes from the novel:

“The greatest thing in the world is to know how to belong to someone else.”

“I loved her,” Robinson said. “And I loved the sick girl you were when I met you, and I loved the good student and the bad driver. I loved the car thief, the hitchhiker, the quoter of novels I haven’t read, and the hater of Slim Jims… Axi Moore, I’ve loved every you there ever was.”

“I watched the way our fingers intertwined, and I thought, What are hands made for but this? For holding. For holding on.”

“Don’t drive like you own the road; drive like you own the car.”

“He was my light, my heart, my beautiful scalawag. And I was—I am—his GG.”

Leave a Reply

