Book Reviews

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – Book Review

Hello everyone! I have finished Snow Like Ashes! 🙂 I’ll be honest, I kind of felt bad for reading all day today when I have a Political Science midterm exam on Saturday, but I really needed a break and I really wanted to finish this book. Part of the problem is once you start reading it, you really can’t stop! It’s so action-packed that you don’t want to put it down!

17399160.jpg
I would have taken a picture of my own copy of the novel but unfortunately my rabbit chewed part of the cover. 😦

A short synopsis of this novel:

There are four seasons, Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. They each have their own sources of magic, however Winter was conquered and their magic taken and this left them without a monarch. There were only eight survivors that escaped the conquer, and they endeavoured to reclaim Winter and restore their magic and live happily ever after. However, it’s a lot more complex. Meira the main character is an orphaned refugee and is a warrior in training and she’s also in love with her best friend Mather, who happens to be the next heir to the Winterian throne. She is very determined to help in any way she can to fulfil the Winterians’ objective of reclaiming their magic and restoring Winter.

I really liked how there was a strong female lead in this novel. Meira is a very strong, ambitious character that feels a strong sense of duty to protect and help her fellow Winterians. The romance in this book I felt was pretty good, it wasn’t the main theme throughout the novel which was good because sometimes fantasy novels can be too focused on developing the romance, that it lacks in action. I felt that this book did a good job in combining both in a way that didn’t feel too overdone.

I also liked how the plot twists weren’t predictable (at least for me) in the beginning. I didn’t predict any of the plot twists and they really took me by surprise.

One of the best features and one the worst features of this book is it’s descriptiveness and its ability to throw the reader into the world of the novel. The world building was phenomenal, everything was well explained, it wasn’t confusing to follow at all, and it was written beautifully in the sense that the imagery was very vivid and as the reader you can really see the story unfolding in your mind. However, at times this was all somewhat of a negative thing, in my opinion, because during the fighting scenes some of it became pretty violent and at those points I would have actually preferred a little bit less detail. (Again, this could just be me).

Anyways, I really liked it, it was a good book for escaping during the stressful exam season as I could forget my stresses and focus on the character’s and their struggles. I would recommend reading it if you haven’t already especially if you enjoy fantasy with just the right amount of romance!

I give this book 4/5 stars.

Some of my favourite quotes from the novel:

“Even the strongest blizzards start with a single snowflake.”

“Fear is a seed that, once planted, never stops growing.”

“Books in towering stacks lean against the fireplace and on small end tables, and crowd the bookshelves so tightly I fear the entire structure will burst in an explosion of paper and dust. They’re the large books too, great archaic things that look so old, so fragile, that I worry I might disintegrate them just by breathing too hard.”

“He stares into the sky, his eyes absent and empty, an expression that branded its horrible meaning into my mind long, long ago. A candle without a spark, a sky without a sun, the look people get when they cease to be people, start being bodies.”

5 thoughts on “Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

