Emancipated by M.G. Reyes Book Review

wp-1452389817276.jpg

Hello everyone! I’m back with another book review, this time a book authored by M.G. Reyes, an author I’ve previously never read anything from. The basic premise of this novel is a group of teenagers become legally emancipated from their parents (for differing reasons) and ultimately become housemates in a beautiful beach house situated on Venice Beach.

The novel was pretty good, it had a lot of secrets that were revealed that was interesting and it was a fast-paced read in that it kept my attention for hours at a time. However, some of the ‘secrets’ that the teenagers had for me at least, were fairly predictable. But that was the main downfall I had with the novel itself, it was still very well written and attention capturing.

The character I think I identified the most with and the one that I liked the most was Paolo. I found him to be a very easy going and relaxed kind of guy that sort of was there for everyone when they needed him the most, but he also kept a lot to himself. He never wanted to burden anyone with his problems no matter how large they might have been. I thought it was pretty cool that he was a tennis player and that he wanted to go to law school to become a Human Rights lawyer, that gained my respect as this is the profession I also want to pursue. However, what kind of bothered me about Paolo was that he really didn’t seem to be focused on school, he seemed to be focused on his tennis and his what I’ll categorize as ‘recreational activities’ that weren’t all that respectable. He seemed to be somewhat of a player, and he wasn’t at all the goody-two-shoes you’d expect someone choosing a career in law to be.

In general, I did enjoy reading about the multi-faceted characters in this novel, each one was unique and different, and had their own background story which was what I found to be the most interesting. I’ll admit, I wish there was a bit more romance in the book, there was some, but the most notable romance was between Paolo and Lucy, but it seemed to be kind of one-sided in that Paolo had become smitten with her and she never really reciprocated the feelings.

I do hope there’s a sequel to this novel, or that it’s made into a series I think that would be cool, as some things weren’t answered as best as I thought they would be by the end of it, I want to know what further  happens to these emancipated teens!

I give this novel a 3.5/5 stars.

2 Replies to “Emancipated by M.G. Reyes Book Review”

  1. Hello! Thanks so much for your very kind review. Would you be interested in receiving a bound galley of INCRIMINATED, the next book in the series? I’d love to know what you think of it. There’s more romance . . . and many surprises ahead. 🙂 If you’d like to receive a copy, please email me with your name, address and postal address and I will let Harper Collins know. Best wishes, MG.

    Like

Leave a Reply

