This Changes Everything by Naomi Klein – Review

wp-1454893690914.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I wanted to review a novel that isn’t something I’d usually review since it’s not a YA contemporary, but I had to read it for school and I thought it was pretty interesting and worth reviewing!

I wanted to start off by saying that I read this for a course that emphasizes “change” as it’s main topic. This course explores different forms of change and why change occurs, which is a pretty interesting theme in my opinion. So this novel fit in well with the themes of the course as it examined climate change in particular.

One of the most fascinating aspects of this novel, is its ability to illustrate to the reader the strong connection between capitalism and its role in climate change. Previous to reading this novel, I hadn’t pondered this relationship as in depth as this novel outlines which I thought was done really well. It really allows the reader to comprehend the relationships between these two relevant concepts. I also personally liked the way that Klein presented these issues, she would draw upon numerous statistics and scientifically proven facts and data to really support her claims which is crucial when writing a book of this nature. However, in my view, I did find that some of the book was somewhat pessimistic when it comes to this issue of climate change – however in my opinion kind of rightfully so – BUT that’s not to say that it didn’t offer potential solutions to the global warming crisis.

What I also enjoyed about Klein’s book, is her incorporation of international law and the emphasis on International Trade Agreements and the role that they take in perpetuating capitalism and therefore simultaneously perpetuating climate change.

The book really illustrates the “big picture” ideas that plague and effect many of us, and if you’re interested in climate change, or capitalism, or the role of major institutions in the shaping of our current environmental or political state, you should definitely pick it up. It’s informative, it’s factual, and it’s an eye-opener. Even if you’re not really into climate change I think you should still pick it up, because it does outline some key issues that everyone should be educated on. For me, I enjoyed learning about the political side of climate change the most, and I think Klein did a really good job in presenting this view, as most of us hear about climate change strictly from a scientific perspective.

I give this novel 4/5 stars 🙂

Some of my Favourite Quotes from the Book:

“our economic system and our planetary system are now at war. Or, more accurately, our economy is at war with many forms of life on earth, including human life. What the climate needs to avoid collapse is a contraction in humanity’s use of resources; what our economic model demands to avoid collapse is unfettered expansion. Only one of these sets of rules can be changed, and it’s not the laws of nature.”
― Naomi Klein, This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

“Because, underneath all of this is the real truth we have been avoiding: climate change isn’t an “issue” to add to the list of things to worry about, next to health care and taxes. It is a civilizational wake-up call. A powerful message—spoken in the language of fires, floods, droughts, and extinctions..”― Naomi Klein, This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate

“climate change as a battle between capitalism and the planet,”
― Naomi Klein, This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

Leave a Reply

