The Birthstone Book Tag

Thank you so much to Frodo and Sam at Fangirls on the Road for this nomination! 🙂

January (GARNET): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

The evilest character I can think of, and probably the character that I hate the most from any book series that I’ve read, is the White Witch from the Chronicles of Narnia!

February (AMETHYST): Purple is associated with royalty – Name a book with regal qualities… You can base this off of characters or choose the King of all books.

For this one, I have to pick my ultimate favourite Prince ever, and go with Maxon Schreave from The Selection Series. He’s literally the best ruler ever. 🙂 ❤

March (AQUAMARINE): Washed out – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower.

America, also from the Selection Series is wishy washy in the beginning of the series in regards to her feelings. She really can’t decide whether she’s in love with Aspen or Maxon, or if she wants to join the royal family, or simply go back to her regular life. I found this to be slightly irritating because I really just wanted her to take a firm stance on what she wanted.

April (DIAMOND): A diamond in the rough – Name a book that you loved but is not well known.

I really enjoyed Tuscan Rose by Belinda Alexandra it followed the life of a girl during the time of Mussolini’s reign and the rise of fascism in Italy. I really liked it because it was different from a lot of the books I’ve read in the past, but it still encompassed some of favourite elements in a book including romance and history. 🙂

May (EMERALD): Said to balance energy – Name two characters who balance each other well.

Two characters that balance each other well come from one of my all time favourite books, Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider. Lane and Sadie are polar opposites but when both placed in Latham House which is a tuberculosis sanatorium, they develop a relationship. Lane is focused on his studies and achieving his academic goals, and Sadie is more adventurous. Sadie always encouraged Lane to enjoy life more, and made his time at Latham House matter. Though they were both sick their love for each other always prevailed and they both supported and built each other up when they were down.

June (Pearl): Associated with loyalty – Name a character who is loyal to the end.

Noah from the Notebook authored by Nicholas Sparks. Though his wife had developed Alzheimers and didn’t even remember him, he stayed loyal to her and read her their story everyday. ❤

July (RUBY): Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Haha, there’s been a few books that have made me extremely angry. I would say one of the books that made me the most angry was Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. Not anything to do with the writing style or even the story, but it was the fact that these heinous things actually happened in history. The fact that a young girl would have to lock her brother in a cupboard to protect him from the Nazi’s upsets me. A lot of historical fiction novels make me angry because I’m just frustrated in general that these horrible things happened during Hitler’s reign.

August (PERIDOT): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

I would have to say Kai from the Lunar Chronicles. Cinder is pretty cool but throughout all of the novels so far, I’ve actually just really looked forward to the parts that Kai is in. I mean… Kai is the Prince of the Eastern Commonwealth after all, he’s very handsome and has “admirable lips”, and I always picture him as being really fashionable. 😀

September (SAPPHIRE): Blue like the ocean which is calming – Name a book that had a calming affect on you.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. This was just a cute contemporary love story that was a lot less sad than most of the historical fiction novels I’ve read, so it was mostly a relief to read something happy for once. 🙂

October (OPAL): Iridescent – Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it off of a character (Quirky? Colourful?)

You guys all know I’m going to pick the Lux series for this one haha. The book covers are literally iridescent (at least the special collectors editions) AND Daemon Black is the character that matches this description perfectly, considering he’s an alien made out of light. 😉 ❤

November (TOPAZ): Associated with resilience – Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

Tris from Divergent 🙂

December (BLUE ZIRCON): Associated with friendship – Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

Going back to the Lux series, I really want to be friends with Daemon and his alien friends! 😀

I nominate:

AngelsPearl

BooksandOtherMiracles

Alicia @ #LoveBooks

 

 

3 Replies to “The Birthstone Book Tag”

  1. Thank you so much for nominating me!! I am so glad to see that Lux came up a few times because OMG LUX IS AMAZING! I want to be friends with Daemon too! I totally agree with you! Anna and The French Kiss as well as Stephanie Perkin’s other novels definitely have a calming effect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

