Book Reviews

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover – Book Review

 

wp-1460947475502.jpg

Hello! I know many of you have already read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover, and I really wish I had read it sooner because I absolutely loved it! I read it awhile ago, but I distinctly remember a few nights staying up well past midnight to finish this! This is now one of my favourite books, and I think it will definitely be on my favourite books of 2016 list.

The novel follows one of the main characters, Sydney. Her father a lawyer, wanted her to get her degree in pre-law, and fulfill his dream for her to become a lawyer just like him. However, when she changes her major, this causes tension between her and her parents, and she ends up living with her best friend and her boyfriend Hunter. However, her life is turned upside down when her boyfriend of two years cheats on her with her best friend Tori.

I have to say, this is one of my all time favourite love stories. I loved it because it was so unlike any other romance novel I’ve read. Sydney and Ridge’s relationship was truly unique and original. I also loved how the two characters really connected through their music. Even though Sydney has a boyfriend, she has always been intrigued with Ridge, the boy she watches from her balcony, who plays the guitar. After Sydney and Hunter’s break up, Ridge attempts to help her by offering a place to stay and they agree that they will create music together, but just as friends, despite their mutual feelings for each other, because Ridge has a girlfriend.

The writing was beautiful. This was my first Colleen Hoover book that I’ve read, and judging from this book, I will be definitely reading more of her books in the future! I now understand why seemingly everyone loves Colleen Hoover so much! 🙂 Once you start reading this book, it becomes extremely immersive and you just cannot stop reading it!

I don’t want to spoil anything from the plot, and I think this book is best if you go into it not knowing much about it, so if you haven’t already, go read this!!

I give this novel 5/5 stars! 🙂

*Warning Spoilers: Don’t read ahead if you haven’t read the book or don’t want to be spoiled. 

I really loved how Ridge and Sydney tried to fight their feelings for each other. Though they were falling in love, Ridge was very devoted to his girlfriend Maggie. This made me really admire Ridge, for actually trying to do the right thing given his circumstances. He proved himself to be a really good guy, who was faithful. Though there was kind of a love triangle, I always just felt like Sydney and Ridge belonged together, and though I liked Maggie as a character, and I even felt bad for her at times, I just didn’t think that she was ever right for Ridge. I usually hate love triangles, but this one I didn’t mind, I actually thought it challenged Ridge and Sydney’s relationship which made it seem more real and natural, because every relationship has it’s obstacles.

One of my favourite scenes in Maybe Someday was after finding out Ridge was deaf, they made music together by him feeling the vibrations in Sydney’s chest as she sang. It’s so amazing that he’s deaf and able to find his own way of creating and understanding music, that is truly unique. It always amazes me when someone can overcome some obstacle in their life, and for Ridge he used his passion for music to overcome the fact that he was deaf, by remaining an extremely talented musician.


I honestly have so many favourite quotes from this book but here are a few: 

“We try so hard to hide everything we’re really feeling from those who probably need to know our true feelings the most. People try to bottle up their emotions, as if it’s somehow wrong to have natural reactions to life.”

“A life of mediocrity is a waste of a life.”

“Words can sometimes have a far greater effect on a heart than a kiss.”

“There isn’t a doubt in my mind that we could be perfect for each others life, Sydney. It’s our lives that aren’t perfect for us.”

“People don’t get to choose who they fall in love with. They only get to choose who they stay in love with.”

“I don’t know a lot about the human body, but I would be willing to bet there’s a nerve that runs directly from the palm of the hand, straight to the heart.”

“His memory is the last place I want to be. I would give anything to always be in his present.”

“I don’t want him to hurt like I’m hurting. I don’t want him to miss me like I’ll miss him. I don’t want him to be falling for me like I’ve been falling for him.”

Leave a Reply

