The Reading Habits Book Tag

I originally saw this on Mark’s blog bongbongbooks (which you should go check out) and decided it looked really fun so this tag is meant to provide insight into some of my reading habits. 🙂

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
I don’t have a specific place at home where I only read. Though I do have places where I read the most often, I tend to prefer my backyard if it’s a nice day, and if not I tend to read in bed or just in my bedroom, but I do like to read by windows because of the natural light! 🙂

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
I use actual bookmarks 99% of the time, but if I don’t have one near me, I’ll use whatever is available to avoid dog-earing the pages!

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
I can stop reading whenever, but I usually prefer to stop after a certain amount of chapters or pages, otherwise I’ll just read the whole book and not accomplish anything else that day.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
I very seldom eat while I’m reading. I’m a really messy eater and I have a tendency to spill my food and I really don’t want to ruin any of my books, so I avoid eating mostly while I’m reading. However, I do drink while I’m reading, I usually have tea or coffee. 🙂

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
I can’t have music or TV while reading. I like it to be quiet in the room otherwise I get distracted. Although I have learned to be able to listen to people talk and read at the same time. 😉

6. One book at a time or several at once?
I used to be the type of person to read only one book at a time, but now I seem to read multiple books at once, I think this mostly has to do with the fact that I have a lot of school readings to do so I’ve learned to multi-task.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
I usually have a book with me everywhere. I read the most at home, but I also bring books with me to doctor’s appointments and school, and anywhere else where I might have some extra time to read it. I just like having a book always with me. 🙂

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
I usually read silently in my head, to avoid annoying the people around me.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
No! I never do this! This is like intentionally spoiling yourself! I also don’t skip pages, if a book is that boring that I feel the need to skip pages, I usually will just not finish it. I’m a firm believer in reading the whole book through, completely, without reading ahead or skipping pages!

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
I’m one of those people who have to have perfect books. It bothers me when books are in bad condition and the spines are broken and the covers are bent. I’m really careful with my books and I keep them like new. 🙂

11. Do you write in your books?
Never. I don’t write in my books or highlight. If I do find something interesting or want to reference a quote later, I’ll usually use a page flag or a sticky note, but I never permanently mark a book (it goes with my whole attempt at keeping my books like new).

12. Who do you tag?
I tag:

Shannon @ Clockwork Bibliophile

Abby  @ Abby Reads

Erika  @ Erika in Bookventurland

Rebecca @ Bec’s Bookshelf

I look forward to seeing your bookish reading habits! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

