Book Reviews

Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith – Book Review

 

13282874_10156844984965618_679493446_o

Hey guys! I wanted to do a book review on Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith because I absolutely loved this book, and I love Jennifer’s writing in general. I’ve also read by her, The Geography of You and Me, and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, and I also loved those as well! This book is no exception! It definitely did not disappoint.

I was actually just casually looking at this book in the bookstore and one of the employees approached me and started telling me how she had just finished it and how I should buy it because she loved it and it was so good, and just judging by how excited she looked telling me about it, I decided to buy it, and I’m glad I did!

Brief Synopsis 

If you didn’t know what this book is about, it’s about a couple, Clare and Aiden, who have graduated high school and it’s now summer and they are about to go to different universities on separate sides of the country. They’ve been dating for two years and have to make a decision whether they should stay together and have a long-distance relationship, or if they should break up to allow them to have the full experience of the college lifestyle. Clare makes a list of all the places she wants to go during their last night together, including their first date, their first kiss etc… Through this last night together by visiting all of the places that were important to them in their past, they are looking for a sign that will determine their future.


The novel was really fast-paced, it was pretty short only around 240 pages so it didn’t take me too long to read it! The romance in the book was just so cute and if you’re looking for a good summer read I recommend this! I liked how the reader really got to know the history of the two characters in just one night by the places they’ve been. I also found that Clare was a really relatable character, as she had a strong vision of what her future would look like, she wasn’t really comfortable with taking risks, and she was really organized! I found myself relating to her, which always makes the book more enjoyable! 🙂 It also didn’t solely focus on their romance (but the majority of it did), but the book also presented a lot of side issues regarding family expectations and pressures as well, which I thought was a really good component to add to this novel!

I give this book 4/5 stars!

Some of my favourite quotes from the novel:

“Maybe the world isn’t full of signs so much as it’s full of people trying to use whatever evidence they can find to convince themselves of what they hope to be true.”

“It can’t be epic if there’s no challenge to it.”

“She shakes her head. “I can’t think of a single good reason to break up with you right now.”
“That’s because you’re not thinking big enough,” he says. “It’s gotta be something huge, something grand.”
“Like world peace?”
“If world peace were a possible side effect of you breaking up with me, then yes, sure, that would definitely count as a noble reason.”
“Maybe,” she says after a moment, “it’s just that we love each other too much.”


Spoiler Section: Do Not Read Ahead If You Haven’t Read the Book, Or Don’t Want To Be Spoiled!

I absolutely loved Clare and Aiden as a couple, they were so cute and perfect for each other! I thought that it was kind of heartbreaking when Clare decided that it would be best that they break up. There really wasn’t any reason related to their compatibility why they should, but sometimes life circumstances challenge a relationship. I thought that the characters handled the situation maturely though, and came to the conclusion that it was best to break up,  but instead of always looking at it from solely a black and white perspective, either breaking up or staying together, there was another alternative, being together later. 🙂 It was so sad though when they decided that they wouldn’t even talk after to give them time to move on, because they were so close and told each other almost everything! For me personally, the epilogue was my favourite part of the novel! I really wish that the author would have extended the story though because I wanted to find out if Clare and Aiden were able to overcome their obstacles in their relationship and if they ended up in a long-distance relationship or if one of them switched schools!

If you’ve read the book, share your thoughts! Did you think they made the right decision? 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

