Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard – Book Review

CSC_0024_Fotor

* If you haven’t read the first book in the series, Red Queen, be aware that this book review may contain spoilers* 

So I’ve just finished Glass Sword and I have so many opinions on this book. First I will give you guys a spoiler-free review, and then for those of you who have read Glass Sword, I’ll provide my opinion on some of the actual plot points, characters and events that take place.

The plot of this novel takes off right where Red Queen left off. I actually liked Glass Sword a bit better than Red Queen, just because I felt like there was more action and there was always something happening. There was really never a dull moment in this book. Also, this book introduces a lot of new characters and abilities that weren’t mentioned in the first book which I thought added an additional layer of creativity to the sequel. A lot of times, sequels don’t really live up to their expectations given how good the first book is, but this sequel goes beyond! It’s also nice that both Red Queen and Glass Sword, though they do have romance, it takes a backseat to the main plot. I thought the limited romance in both of these novels was necessary as to not detract from the main storyline.

Additionally, though Red Queen has been criticized for being similar to other contemporary dystopians such as Hunger Games, I found that the second book definitely deviated from that. Glass Sword seemed to be very original and creative and unlike a lot of novels I’ve read in the past.

I know this review is kind of short, but I really do think it’s best to go into the novel not knowing too much about the plot!

Some of my Favourite Quotes from the Novel:

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

“Anyone, anything, can betray anyone. Even your own heart.”

“No heart can ever be truly understood. Not even your own.”

“It’s not something you can control, Mare,” he replies, still standing so far away. “We can’t choose who we love. I wish, more than anything, that we could.” I feel cracked open. My skin still runs hot from Cal’s embrace, remembering the feel of him only moments ago. But in the deepest part of me, in spite of every fiber of my being, I think beyond the clearing, to ice-colored eyes, an empty promise, and a kiss aboard a boat.”

I give this novel 5/5 stars!

* SPOILER SECTION – Do not read ahead if you haven’t read both Red Queen and Glass Sword, or if you don’t want to be spoiled * 

As I mentioned before, I had a lot of thoughts on the events of this novel. Firstly, I wanted to discuss Mare as a character. In the first book she was so independent and her actions weren’t really driven by her emotions. But in the second book, she becomes this cold-hearted person as seen through her showing off the dead body of Queen Elara. I feel like Mare in Red Queen wouldn’t be this ruthless. I found her self-pity to be both understandable given what she’s been through, and how she’d been continually betrayed, but also a little bit frustrating because this negative attitude could become a serious obstacle to her achieving her future goals with the Scarlet Guard. She went through a serious change in her character throughout the novel, especially in regards to Maven. In the beginning she swore she would never surrender herself to him…but at the end, that’s exactly what she did. Also, this negative attitude that she has taken on has notably effected her relationships with her family and close friends and even Cal. I hope to see her in the next novel somehow overcome the loss of her past, mend her relationships, and be a little bit more hopeful and positive, and the strong person she once was.

What really bothered me about this book, was Shade’s death. The whole first book we were under the impression that Shade was dead, and Mare’s family thought he died, but then he  was alive…just to actually die in the second book?! Why!? Shade was one of my favourite characters, and he was so close to Mare, and he also had a really cool ability that no one else has. 😦

The third thing that I picked up on in the novel was Farley’s change in behaviour. She seemed sick, she stopped wanting to join in on missions, and she also touched her stomach near the end of the book. There’s been a lot of speculation that her answer from Jon being “yes” was in regards to whether or not she was pregnant. I guess we’ll have to see in the next book, but my suspicions are definitely raised! I think this could be a good possibility because Shade was such a loved character, maybe Shade’s character can be lived out in a way, through his and Farley’s child?

I thought the most useful ability of everyone in this novel was Cameron’s. She had the ability to essentially shut down another person and their ability. It definitely came off as being the strongest. However, Jon’s ability of seeing into the future was proven very useful in this novel, and I hope to see more of Jon in the third book! Which ability did you think was the most useful?


 

Overall I loved this book! I’m kind of disappointed that I binge read both Red Queen and Glass Sword, I got so submersed into this story, and now I have to wait until the third book which I heard comes out in February! It seems like such a long wait, but I’m sure it’ll be worth it. I can’t wait to see what Victoria Aveyard has in store for the third instalment of this story, especially because it seems that she likes to end her novels on cliffhangers! I’m really curious to see what Mare’s plan is now and how it will all play out.

I definitely know that this book is going to give me a book hangover for sure!

Leave a Reply

