My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Joni Meadows – Book Review

My Lady Jane.jpg

Hello Everyone, a few days ago I finished reading My Lady Jane! At first I was slightly hesitant because this novel is written by three different authors, so I was skeptical that it would be noticeable in the writing, but I was surprised! It read as if it was one author writing the book.

This novel is a retelling of history, in particular, the nine days that Lady Jane Grey took the throne of England. Though I didn’t know too much about Lady Jane Grey, this book had inspired me to do some additional research on the topic, so I could compare the actual history, to how these authors creatively retold it.

The characters were all really interesting to read about, because in this envisioning of history, society is grouped into two categories, the Verities who are those who are comparable to regular people, and those who have the ability to turn into an animal. Naturally, the two groups in society are at odds with each other, so this creates some political and social tension that the monarchy is challenged with. This is the part of the book that includes some fantasy-like elements. Also, I found that Jane was a really relatable character, she’s seen in the novel to love books, and to always be carrying them around with her. In this way, she reminded me a lot of myself. She was a very well read woman and had a lot of knowledge regarding numerous topics that ended up helping the other characters in the long run.

The romance in the novel was done really well, and besides the humour and wit, this was my second favourite aspect of this book. There was a heavy emphasis on romance, but it didn’t feel rushed, and I felt like it was an accurate depiction of how romance was during that period of time for those who were nobles or part of the royal family.

I also liked the humour that surrounded some of the still very prevalent gender roles that existed in society during that time period, especially around women, and also about G and his poetry. I found that Edward in particular, by the end of the novel, was rather progressive in this regard.

Overall I give this novel 4.5/5 stars, I read it really quickly despite it being a fairly long book, I found myself not able to put it down for the most part. It was continually humorous, and I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. I thought it was a good summer read because it was relatively light, and also I’ve been in the mood for books that have some aspects of fantasy in them!


Some of my Favourite/ Notable Quotes from the Novel:

“Who on earth could feel comfortable enough to sleep in a room with no books?”

“I know I’m not inspiring much confidence at this point, but there’s something else I thought I’d bring up.” She lifted her eyes to him. “I love you more than I love books.”

“On everyone’s lap rested a book. Any book. In case the wedding got boring.”

“Armies aren’t very good about carrying libraries with them. I can’t imagine why. We’d fight so much less if everyone would juste sit down and read”

“We’re going to live tomorrow, and for long after. We’ll have years and years to fight about everything you want to fight about.”
He made it sound like it was a desirable thing.
“I hope so,” Jane said. “I’ve been making a list.”
“I don’t doubt it. What shall we fight about first?”

 

One Reply to “My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Joni Meadows – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

