The Wrath and the Dawn by Renèe Ahdieh – Book Review

DSC_0029.jpg

Hey guys! So I finished The Wrath and the Dawn today while taking a mini-road trip, I made sure to seize any opportunity to read this book because it’s so good! 😀 I know a lot of people have read it already, but this book got so much hype on booktube, so I decided I’d check it out for myself  and I’m so glad that I did!

This novel follows the story of a Caliph named Khalid who’s only a boy-king with the reputation of being murderous and  pretty ruthless towards his brides. However, Shahrzad, the main character decides to willingly marry him despite his reputation, and avenge her best friend’s death which was at the hands of Khalid. However, she finds herself falling in love with him, as she gets to know him, and his dark past, and the events that have led up to his becoming so cold-hearted. Shahrzhad then feels torn between betraying her family, her best friend, and ultimately all of the women in her kingdom that have fallen prey to Khalid, and her love for the Caliph.

This novel was inspired by A Thousand and One Nights and I really enjoyed the culture that it presented. I haven’t read many novels that encompass a middle-eastern culture and setting, however, sometimes there were phrases or words that were unfamiliar to me, so I definitely made use of the provided glossary in the back of the book!

I have to say, that at some points the plot wasn’t moving as quick as I’d like it too, but it wouldn’t take long until something really dramatic would happen, so it didn’t bother me that much. What I really found interesting in this novel, was when there were physical hand-to-hand combats especially involving Khalid. His most used weapon was the Shamshir which is described in the novel as a thin saber or sword with a really sharp curve, and I found it entertaining reading about his sword fights, because he was quite skilled!

The romance in this novel was written beautifully! I loved the dialogue between Khalid and Shahrzad, throughout the entire novel. Shahrzad was constantly telling Khalid how she should be treated as an equal to him, despite the fact that she was a woman, which I appreciated because I love when feminism is presented in a positive light in novels! 🙂

Overall I give this book 4.5/5 stars, and I’ve already decided that tomorrow I will HAVE to buy the sequel because it left off with so much chaos, it seemed like so many things happened at once, I need to know what happens next! 😀


Favourite Quotes from the Novel: 


  • “My soul sees its equal in you.”
  • “Love is—a shade of what I feel.”
  • “Love is a force unto itself, sayyidi. For love, people consider the unthinkable…and often achieve the impossible. I would not sneer at its power.”
  • “I know love is fragile. And loving someone like you is near impossible. Like holding something shattered through a raging sandstorm. If you want her to love you, shelter her from that storm…And make certain that storm isn’t you.”
  • “I understand how difficult it is, putting your heart in someone else’s hands. But, if you don’t, how will you ever truly know a person?”
  • “I love you, Shahrzad al-Khayzuran. There is nothing I would not do for you. Nothing I would not consider if it meant keeping you safe. The world itself should fear me if it stands between us.”
  • “Khalid’s features smoothed knowingly. “How right you are. You are not mine.” He dropped his palm from the door. “I am yours.”
  • “So that she could be by his side, make him smile as she laughed, weave tales by lamplight, and share secrets in the dark. So that she could fall asleep in his arms and awaken to a brilliant tomorrow.”
  • “For nothing, not the sun, not the rain, not even the brightest star in the darkest sky, could begin to compare to the wonder of you”
  • “Perhaps it was the lure of marrying a king. Or the vain hope you might be the one to stay the course and win the heart of a monster.”

This book had so many swoon-worthy quotes!! I just loved the writing, and the dialogue between the main characters! 😀 I hope the sequel is equally as good!

3 Replies to “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renèe Ahdieh – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

