August Book Haul! :)

Book Haul 1.jpg

This month I bought a lot of books! My To Be Read pile is rapidly growing but after reading the Wrath and the Dawn, I just needed the sequel, and though I had the intention of only purchasing a few books while I was at the book store, I ended up buying a lot more!

  1. The Choices We Make by Karma Brown – This book I bought earlier on in the month, I picked it up as an impulse buy because I read the back and it seemed intriguing. The cover is also beautiful! Here’s a link to the Goodreads Description: The Choices We Make I don’t know much about this novel yet, but it follows the bond of two very close friends and the sacrifices they make for each other.Book Haul 5.jpg
  2. Room by Emma Donoghue – I’ve heard such good things about this book, and it’s gotten great reviews! It encompasses the issue of women in captivity with their children, and their escape! I’m really excited to read this! Here’s the Goodreads Description: RoomBook Haul 6.jpg
  3. To Have and Have Not by Ernest Hemingway – This novel takes place during the Great Depression and follows the story of an honest man who is required to smuggle contraband between Cuba and Key West to remain financially stable and support his family. Full Goodreads Description Here: To Have and Have Not
  4. Emma by Jane Austen – I already own this book, but my copy is apart of the Jane Austen Heirloom Collection, so I wanted a paperback copy that I could read and bring with me, because I want to keep my collectors edition novels in perfect condition! 🙂 If you want to know more about this novel check out the Goodreads Description: Emma
  5. Persuasion by Jane Austen – Similarly to Emma, I own this novel already but it’s a collectors item! This is the last finished novel of Jane Austen’s works so for fans of Jane Austen it’s a must-read! Goodreads Description: PersuasionBook Haul 2.jpg* These beautiful covers were on sale for 3 for $10 at the bookstore, so I couldn’t pass them up! Jane Austen is one of my favourite classic authors, so I’m hoping to read both Persuasion and Emma in the Fall! I haven’t read anything by Ernest Hemingway, but I’m equally excited to read To Have and Have Not because I love literature set during the Great Depression era.
  6. The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson – The second book in the Remnant Chronicles (better known as the sequel to the Kiss of Deception), continues the story, as Lia is held captive in the Kingdom of Venda, and Lia’s intended assassin Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she possess the gift. I am SO excited to read this book! I read The Kiss of Deception about a year ago, and loved it, and I’ve been wanting to read this for quite awhile and I’ve finally got around to buying it.
  7. The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson – The third novel in the Remnant Chronicles, it’s a pretty thick one with nearly 100 chapters and 700 pages! This book was just released this month, and I can’t wait to see where this book takes Lia on her journey! I’ve been trying to avoid as many spoilers as possible, so I haven’t really looked into it that much but here’s the Goodreads Description for those of you who are interested: The Beauty of Darkness Book Haul 7.jpg
  8. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Adhieh – This is the sequel and the final book in the duology. I’m currently reading it, though I’m not very far as I just bought it yesterday but so far I’m liking it just as much as the Wrath and the Dawn! Review coming soon! 🙂 Goodreads Description: The Rose and the DaggerBook Haul 9
  9. Justin Trudeau The Natural Heir by Huguette Young – This book outlines the history of Justin Trudeau’s involvement in the Liberal Party, Hugette Young, a journalist, provides details from within Trudeau’s inner circle and speculates what path his leadership may take in the future. The novel says that it’s ideal for supporters and skeptics alike, and I would identify with the latter category, but I am interested in learning more about the Prime Minister of Canada and his background. Book Haul 3.jpg
  10. Great Again – How to Fix Our Crippled America by Donald J Trump – I just wanted to say right off the bat that I am not a Trump supporter in any way. In fact I oppose the majority of his ideals and his plans to “fix” America. However, I think it would be  beneficial to read from his perspective a distinct outlined plan on how he will restore America, mostly for educational purposes due to the upcoming American presidential election. Book Haul 4.jpg

    As a side note, I’m going away on vacation next week so I probably won’t be posting as much, and I also am trying to plan which books from this book haul I should bring with me to read! 😀 If you’ve read any of these and have any suggestions of what I should bring with me, let me know! 🙂

2 Replies to “August Book Haul! :)”

Leave a Reply

