Uncategorized, WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday – November 2nd

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The three questions for this week are:

1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading – 

Lately I’ve been finding myself picking up books and reading about a quarter of them, and kind of just leaving them on my shelf unfinished so I’m currently reading about 3 books, all of which I’m a quarter or less through but here they are:

Who Rules the World? by Noam Chomsky – This book is mostly about America post 9/11 and the power relations that exist. It also discusses topics including how imperial power is detrimental to the global community as a whole, and especially he emphasizes how capitalism plays into democracy, and how elites find themselves “insulated” from democratic constraints on their power. (As a side note: Noam Chomsky is currently my favourite modern philosopher, and I really tend to admire his work and his perspectives on America and its role in global politics and international relations).

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys – This novel  is a historical fiction that takes place during WWII and focuses on how a young Lithuanian girl is taken from her home by the Soviet Secret Police and placed on a train on her way to Siberia with her brother and mom, while being separated from her father. She uses her talent of artwork to try to connect her family again though they are in different prison camps by sending her drawings to her father with hidden clues and messages.

Life Sentence by Christie Blatchford – This book is written by a crime reporter, and she explores the inner-workings of the Canadian justice system and why it has failed by examining real Canadian criminal cases. This novel discusses the issues of the judicial system and its judges in particular.

Recently Finished – 

I’ve recently finished The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee which I reviewed! 🙂

What do you think you’ll read next? 

Tonight I have decided to re-read the Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson because I read that one awhile ago and I want to binge read the whole series but I forget a lot of the small details of the first book therefore I think it will be beneficial for me to read The Kiss of Deception again before getting into the other books! I’m actually really excited to read this series. Lately I’ve kind of been in a reading slump, probably because of how much school work I’ve had so I haven’t really been this excited or motivated to read for fun in awhile but one thing I remember about reading The Kiss of Deception is that I loved it! 🙂  I also really love the covers of these books and I’ve really been in the mood for an action-filled fantasy! 🙂 I’ve heard really good reviews about The Heart of Betrayal and the newest to the series, the Beauty of Darkness, so I’m super happy to be binge reading these this month! It’s my goal to have read the whole series by the end of the month, which means a lot of reading for me given the fact that The Beauty of Darkness is nearly 700 pages long! I haven’t really been very committed to reading lately, so this will be the ultimate series commitment for me this November!

Book Haul 7

Leave a Reply

