Book Reviews, Uncategorized

The Heart of Betrayal By Mary E. Pearson – Book Review & Discussion

Hey guys! I finished The Heart of Betrayal today, the second book in the Remnant Chronicles. Before starting this book, I wanted to quickly re-read The Kiss of Deception because I had read it some time ago, and didn’t want to forget any major plot points that might be present in The Heart of Betrayal, and I’m glad that I did that because this book picked up right where The Kiss of Deception left off.

I first wanted to say that I loved this book just as much as I loved the first one, sometimes as a series goes on, you realize that the first book was actually the best but I do think that Mary E. Pearson set the bar high with her first book, and carried through in The Heart of Betrayal, keeping the expectations high for the third and final installment in the series. I loved so many aspects of this novel including the love triangle, the politics (especially the politics), the suspense, and definitely the ending. In my opinion the second half or even the last quarter of the book was the best, as so many things were happening at once, and also we get to find out a lot of new surprising information about different characters including Kaden, Calantha, and the Komizar himself.

It was definitely a fast-paced read, it was a book that I was eager to read between classes, in the car, everywhere! I loved the character development of Lia, we got to see her strengths magnified in this novel, and how she was able to strategically problem solve, and also her gift was explained better, so we get a much better understanding of her abilities in this book than we did in The Kiss of Deception.

The love triangle in this novel was fantastic! I don’t want to spoil anything for those who haven’t read this, but the romance was amazing!! (Team Rafe!! ❤😍👑)  I loved how it was an important element of the book, but it never really overpowered the other elements such as the action or the political tension!

I give this novel 4.5/5 stars! If you liked The Kiss of Deception, definitely read this, it’s an amazing extension of the first book, and I grew to love the characters even more! I’m about to start the final book, which is pretty long but I’m really excited to see how everything wraps up, and where the story will go from here given the ending of The Heart of Betrayal, I’m awp-1480813448700.jpglso kind of sad knowing that starting The Beauty of Darkness is the beginning of the end of such an empowering series.


Discussion:

Do not read ahead if you haven’t read both The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal or don’t want to be spoiled!

Many times this book shocked me. Especially finding out about Kaden being Morrighan and his long-lived history with the Komizar. That was such an interesting twist to the story that Mary E. Pearson added in. Although at the conclusion of the novel when Rafe and Lia are fleeing Venda, Kaden just kind of disappears, I’m very curious as to where he went.

One of my favourite parts of this book was when the Komizar told Lia she had to marry him to illustrate to the clans her dedication to Venda, and Kaden fought the Komizar. This was somewhat surprising to me, given the fact he has such a deep connection with the Komizar because of his past. I was really impressed with Kaden at this point in the novel because it really portrayed how much he must care about Lia, to betray Venda and the Komizar through his act of violence.

The ending of this book was literally so intense, at one point I thought for sure Lia was going to die! This is when I started to love Rafe even more than I did before. He jumped out of the raft to save her and be with her! I love their relationship so much, she finally admits in this novel that though she cares about Kaden, she really just wants to be with Rafe and only him. Their relationship is put to the test so many times in this book, from not being able to communicate, to Rafe having to assume a different identity, and Lia having to trust him to come through with his plans for them to flee Venda. Though they didn’t have much contact or communication throughout the novel, their love stayed strong in the end. I couldn’t help but think while reading this book… all of this drama could have been avoided if she never left the day she was supposed to be married, because she ends up loving him anyway! But then again.. things would have been a lot different and we wouldn’t have this amazing book series! I hope in the next book Lia is happy with Rafe, and their relationship becomes even stronger!


Some of my favourite quotes from the novel… 

“It was worth it, Lia,” He said. “Every mile, every day. I’d do it all again. I’d chase you across three continents if that’s what it took to be with you.”

“We had a terrible start… doesn’t mean we can’t have a better ending.”

“But you’re everything I want. Remember that. I love you, Lia. Not a title. And not because a piece of paper says I should. Because I do.”

“And I began walking. A thousand miles, or two, I would carry her all the way to Dalbreck if I had to. No one would pry her from my arms again.”

“I wished that love could be simple, that it was always given and returned in the same measure, equally and at the same time, that all the planets aligned in a perfect way to dispel all doubts, that it was easy to understand and never painful.”

Leave a Reply

