Book Reviews

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Book Review

The Diabolic 2.jpg

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday full of relaxing reading, I know I did! I finished reading the Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed it so I thought I would share my review of the novel.

This book is a relatively new release, as it was published only in November of 2016. I kept seeing so many reviews and discussions of this book within the book community and was genuinely intrigued by the unique and original concept that S.J. Kincaid has brought to fantasy and science fiction.


Description:

The main character Nemesis, is a Diabolic, and the Diabolics are created in this society to protect and bond to only one person. Nemisis is the diabolic to Sidonia the daughter of a Galactic Senator. However, when Sidonoia is summoned to court by the emperor, Nemesis must take the place of Sidonia in the Galactic Court without any political training, in order to protect her. If you want to know more about the plot here is the Goodreads description: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Review: 

Overall I really liked this book. It was fast-paced, and I loved the world building. I would say that the world building done by the author was my favourite aspect of the novel. I’ve read quite a few fantasy novels and science fiction ones as well, and I must say that this is truly a unique and original combination of politics, fantasy, and strong relationships. I also liked the different technology that this world had in terms of beauty. The whole concept was intriguing, having a humanoid technological advancement as the protector of an individual, who is so loyal that they would give their own life to save their human’s.

It was an interesting perspective that the main character Nemesis, was made to be vicious and inhumane, and brutal and even violent, to fill the role of the anti-hero. Most times the protagonist is created to appeal to the readers with typically positive characteristics, although S.J. Kincaid created Nemesis to be intriguing but at the same time, different from what we are used to as readers.

I loved the relationship between Nemesis and Sidonia. Diabolics are known to be violent in their protection of their human, however you can really see that Nemesis is different, and she starts to develop human emotions that Diabolics were not created to have, as she doesn’t let her intended identity hold her back from becoming who she wanted to be, which is someone who is loving and caring for others. I also liked the relationship between Tyrus and Nemesis! The romance in this novel was really well done, it wasn’t the main theme that overpowered the plot, but it was a nice addition to the main plot events, I liked how by the end they were a team!

Lastly, I wanted to mention that not only did I love the world building and it’s originality but I also enjoyed the politics in this novel. It was quite interesting reading about the expected Court etiquette and behaviour within the Court with the other government officials. I don’t want to spoil anything but for those of you who have read the novel, you will understand when I say that I love the political strategies used in this novel. Some of the characters are not who they seem, and they all have a political agenda, and I think that was very intelligently executed throughout the book.

I give this book 4/5 stars for being just generally interesting to read about, and contributing something different to the fantasy genre. I know this is a standalone but I would love a spin-off novel maybe set in the same world, but with different characters!


Some of my favourite quotes from the novel:

“A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for.”

“Some might call us a monstrous pair, and they would be right. Tyrus and I were both scorpions in our way, dangerous creatures crossing the most treacherous of rivers together. Together we might sting – but we also would float.”

“I had no soul and very little heart, but what heart there was belonged to her.”

“Human history is a repetition of patterns. Empires rise and then fall into decadence and decay. Time and again. Ages ago, human beings progressed technologically at an exponential rate. We expanded into space, we left Earth and traveled the galaxy.”

1 thought on “The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Book Review”

  1. I’ve been thinking about buying this book, and after reading your review (and a couple of others from fellow bloggers) I think it’s going to have to me in my next purchase. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Look forward to your next review. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

