King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard – Book Review

King's Cage 4

I have just finished reading King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard, after what feels like forever. I think I have been reading this book for over a month a now. I have mixed feelings on this novel, it was really well written, I do like Victoria Aveyard’s writing style and also the premise of the entire series. I started Red Queen last year and read Glass Sword right after, at the time I was really into the series and I literally could not wait to read King’s Cage, but by the time it finally came out, and I read it, I just wasn’t as excited about this series as I originally was going into the first book.

Part of the reason that I don’t think I enjoyed the novel as much as I thought I would, is because for me the fighting and combat scenes became kind of repetitive. These scenes were my least favourite in the novel because it seemed that they just lacked originality and intrigue. I more enjoyed the beginning of the novel, learning about the deep feelings that Mare has after the loss of her brother Shade, and her inner-feelings of hatred towards Maven.

King's Cage 2.jpg

I would say that my favourite part of the novel was getting a deeper understanding of the characters that we have been following throughout the series. This book really allows the reader to understand the the villain, being Maven, and in some ways sympathize with him because of his mother’s dark pull on him. In addition, a new element that this novel brought to the series was the raw emotion of Mare. Especially when she was Maven’s captive, we got to see her thought process and emotions a lot more vividly than in the other books when she constantly engaging in the next task to further her agenda, where we didn’t get as good of a sense of her emotions. Also, I liked the development of her relationship with Cal, and how they helped each other overcome their nightmares of past traumatic experiences.

In my opinion the beginning and the very end of the novel were the best parts, the middle for me got to be less intriguing, and at some points it was hard for me to keep my attention on the plot.

That being said, if you did enjoy the other two novels, this one is still worth a shot. I know that this book has got many amazing reviews, and even got over a 4.5 star rating on Goodreads, so it might have just been me and my circumstances that made me not enjoy this book as much as I originally anticipated.

I give this novel 3.5/5 stars, and I’m hoping to re-read it along with the rest of the series again at some point, to see if reading the whole series together might change my opinion and make me enjoy it a bit more! Though I would still definitely recommend it if you liked the other two books because you do get a deeper understanding of the characters which is a really well done element in this book. Also, it’s important to note how pretty this book is! I took a lot of pictures of it because I found it to be an overall beautiful novel!

King's Cage 5.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

