Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick – Book Review

Hush Hush 1_Fotor.jpg

Hey guys! I just finished Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick! I have mixed opinions on this one. I have to say that I did really enjoy the plot, the plot-twists, and the mystery, paranormal aspect of this book. I was intrigued by Patch’s character as he was mysterious and no one really knew his true intentions until near the end. There was a lot of elements of this book that were kind of creepy, like dark figures in ski-masks following around Nora the main character, causing havoc. I’ve read a lot of these types of books before and I thought I had a good idea how things would turn out, but I was wrong, which means in my view that the book was successful in keeping the reader guessing through its intricate plot twists. The plot was much more complex than the description of the book leads on to, which I thought was good! I also liked how Nora didn’t fall for this mysterious Patch right away and the author built up a more realistic development of their relationship, which is something that is often lacking in YA literature. I thought the author also did an amazing job of keeping the plot moving quickly, there was never a time in the book that I got bored, and I found myself getting through this book fairly quickly. However, one thing that I didn’t really like about this novel, was the main character Nora. For some reason, she just kind of bugged me. It seemed that she just couldn’t make one intelligent decision. For example, who wanders into a dark alley on the wrong side of town when they know there’s danger? She seemed to me to be somewhat naive. I also didn’t particularly like Nora’s mother, she was always absent, and she didn’t really seem to care that much about where Nora was and what she was doing. How are these creepy things happening in her house and she’s completely unaware of all of it, leaving Nora at night alone? Overall, despite the fact that I didn’t really love Nora’s character, I did really enjoy the rest of the book and the premise of the storyline and I probably will be picking up the rest of the series eventually. Maybe as the series goes on Nora will learn to make better decisions and we’ll see her develop as a character (hopefully).

Overall, I give this novel 4/5 stars. It was a perfect read during exam season, as it was  one of those guilty pleasure reads. Yes, it was a little bit cliche, there were a lot of YA tropes present, but nonetheless I still enjoyed it.

Some of my favourite quotes from the novel:    

“Keep in mind that people change, but the past doesn’t.”

“Patch wasn’t the kind of guy mothers smiled on. He was the kind of guy they changed the house locks for.”

“Patch’s eyes were black orbs. Taking in everything and giving away nothing.”

“Humans are vulnerable, because they’re capable of being hurt.”

7 Replies to “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick – Book Review”

  1. It’s been so long since I’ve read this series. I’ve considered re-reading, though I fear my opinion could be very different this time round — and I happened to give my copies away to charity, so would have to buy them again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhhh this is by far one of my favourite series!! I kiinda agree with Nora being naive and while she doesn’t always make stellar choices in the rest of the books, but I find that if she made perfect choices, she wouldnt be human :p but its definitely a YA trope that the girls arent always the brightest

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, interesting review. I read this book as part of a lit analysis project on YA books back in college. I chose YA paranormal romances. Of the three books I chose, Hush, Hush was definitely the most disturbing, but not in the “dark figures in ski-masks” sort of way. It was more, “Patch is a creepy, rapey stalker and the author confused the threat of sexual violence with sexiness”. That’s what I wrote in my paper, anyway.

    Regardless, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I do like YA but one of things that I have a problem with is the common theme of what you describe as being the threat of sexual violence with sexiness. This is seen throughout YA literature and it in my opinion does send the wrong message about what a relationship should be especially to younger readers. But sounds like a very interesting paper!

      Like

Leave a Reply

