A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas – Book Review

Beware: This review might contain spoilers of ACOTAR and ACOMAF.

ACOWAR 1

     Hey guys! So I finished ACOWAR today and I had so many feelings on this book. Yesterday I sat down for 5 straight hours and literally did not stop reading because I just couldn’t! The whole book from the first page to the last contains so many dramatic events that keep the reader interested. However, I think I liked the last quarter the best of the entire book. I liked that we got to find out so many new things about each of the characters that we didn’t know while reading the rest of the series, but looking back on it, it makes sense now. Sarah J Maas also really included a lot of diversity in terms of her characters in this book, which I know has been one of the things that the ACOTAR series has been criticized on, is it’s lack of diversity, but after finishing the third book you can see that there does remain quite a bit of diversity in the land of Prythian.

I thought that this book was perfect. It met all of my expectations going into it, which were pretty high because Sarah set the bar high with the ending of ACOMAF. I loved the tension between Rhysand, Tamlin, and Feyre and how that all played out throughout the book too. I also liked that we could see more of Feyre’s sisters Elain and Nesta throughout this novel they play a much more significant role than they previously have.

Another addition that I liked in ACOWAR in comparison to the other books, is the new love interests. Not only is Rhysand and Feyre’s relationship the cutest thing ever, but more romantic interests between some of the other characters are also introduced and I loved that element of ACOWAR!!

Throughout this entire series it was so heartwarming just seeing how Rhysand, Azriel, Cassian, Mor, Feyre, and even Amren, were so close and how they all looked out for each other like they were family! I cannot wait for more books with these characters!!

Overall I give this novel 5/5 stars and if you haven’t read it yet, it will not disappoint at all! Be prepared to get emotional over some parts though!

Some of my favourite Quotes from the novel: 

“What we think to be our greatest weakness can sometimes be our biggest strength.”

“I see all of you, Rhys. And there is not one part that i do not love with everything I am.”

“We’re all a broken, in our own ways – In places no one might see.”

 

Leave a Reply

