Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – Book Review

DSC_0103_Fotor.jpg

Hey guys, so I read this book probably about a month ago, but I haven’t gotten around to actually doing the review for it until now, but since this time has gone by it’s really allowed me to develop and collect my thoughts on it.

If you don’t know what it is about I’ll leave the Goodreads description here: Daughter of Smoke and Bone Description.

I have a lot of mixed feelings on this novel. I know a lot of people either really loved it or really didn’t, but I think that I’m one of the rare people that fall into the middle category. At first, I  was really confused while reading this book, because the world is something that I’m quite unfamiliar with. It’s not like any other world I’ve been exposed to in YA literature before. However, once I started understanding the world a little better I did become fond of some of the elements of this world, including the fact that there are different levels of wishes that could be granted. To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of mythological books, or novels that deal heavily with mythology so perhaps that is the one aspect of this book that I didn’t love. But that being said, those who do like mythology would really like this book!

I thought that the writing style was really good, it almost had a mysterious element to it that kept the reader intrigued all the way through. The romance was also done very well, and I would say is probably one of my favourite parts of the book. I also did like the description that the author provided with the world itself and especially the creatures that resided in this world. Because it is so unlike our own universe, these descriptions were both necessary and a relief for the reader in understanding and visualizing the plot and the characters.

Overall, I did enjoy this novel, though it is kind of long, it is a quick read and keeps the reader engaged in the story the whole time. I think this novel would be great for anyone who is looking for something that is different within the fantasy genre and likes a little bit of mythology and romance (that isn’t insta-love). I give this novel 3.5/5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

